Become a fan of our Facebook page! Just click the above logo.


Below are the people and organizations who have signed the pledge in support of Irish Unity. Let's make this list longer!


Brian Masse M.P., NDP, Windsor

Pam McConnell, Toronto City Councillor

Joe Mihevc, Toronto City Councillor

Hon. Warren Allmand PC, O.C. Former Solicitor General of Canada

Charlie Angus, Member of Parliament (New Democratic Party)

Chris Axworthy, Dean of University of Manitoba Law School, former Attorney General of Saskatchewan

Zach Churchill, Member of the Legislative Assembly – Nova Scotia (Liberal)

Paul Dewar M.P..  Paul is the M.P. for the Ottawa Centre and is the Foreign Affairs Critic of the New Democratic Party

Doug Dickerson, Pickering, Ontario City Councillor (Ward 2)

Joe Drumm, Regional Councillor for the Region of Durham

Georgina Bencsik, Central Area Coordinator, Ontario Liberal Party and former National Ontario Vice-President and Multiculturalism Chair, Liberal Party of Canada

Edward Corrigan, former London, Ont. City Councilor

Steve Kent, Member of the House of Assembly – Newfoundland (Conservative)

Amir Khadir, Member of the National Assembly - Quebec (Quebec Solidaire)

Bernard Landry, former Premier of Quebec

Francine Lalonde Member of Parliament (Bloc Quebecois - Foreign Affairs Critic)

Irene Mathyssen, Member of Parliament (New Democratic Party)

Pat Martin, Member of Parliament (New Democratic Party)

Don Mitchell, Whitby , Ontario Regional Councillor

Pat O'Brien, former Member of Parliament (Liberal) and former Chair of the Ireland Canada Inter-Parliamentary Friendship Group

Jennifer O'Connell, Pickering, Ontario City Councillor (Ward 1) and candidate for Regional Councillor

John O'Toole, Member of Provincial Parliament - Ontario (Conservative)

Pierre Paquette M.P. (Bloc Quebecois)


Carolyn Egan, President of the United Steel workers Toronto Area Council.

Montreal Council of the Confederation of National Trade Unions (CSN)

Chris Buckley, President of Canadian Autoworkers (CAW) Local 222 Oshawa, and John Johnson, Chairperson of the Durham Region Transit Unit CAW Local 222

Anne Healy, National Representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees

Manon Perron, Treasurer of the Montreal Council of the Confederation of National Trade Unions (CSN)

Leo Puddester, former President of the Newfoundland Association of Public Employees

Sid Ryan, President of the Ontario Federation of Labour

Mike Seaward, President of the United Steelworkers Union Local 8412 and Vice-President of the Ontario New Democratic Party

St. Catherines and District Labour Council


Stephen Augustine, Hereditary Chief on the Mi’kmaq Grand Council


Rana Bose, author, "The Fourth Canvas", playwright

Jimmy Carton, Irish Canadian singer/songwriter

David Fennario, playwright, "Balconville", "Joe Beef; A History of Montreal"

Eleanor McGrath, author, “A Story To Be Told”

Dr. John Greyson - Associate Professor: Production Department of Film, York University. The recipient of the 2000 Toronto Arts Award for film/video and the 2007 Bell Award in Video Art, John Greyson is a filmmaker, video artist, writer, activist and educator whose productions have won accolades at festivals throughout the world. and educator whose productions have won accolades at festivals throughout the world.

Kerry Knoll, former editor of the Northern Miner

Thom Loree, editor and Journalist

Finny McConnell, singer with "The Mahones"

Treasa O'Driscoll, author, "Celtic Woman, a Memoir of Life's Poetic Journey"

Brian Gordon Sinclair, Artistic Director, "The Children of Erin," "Hemingway on Stage," Tyrone Guthrie Award-winning performer and playwright. "Easter Rising: The Last Words of Patrick Pearse," "Hemingway's HOT Havana."

Cindy Stone, author, “The Incidental Guru”

Kevin Tierney, film producer, “Bon Cop, Bad Cop”


Séamus Mac Floinn, Professor of Irish Folklore and History, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Dr. Ninian Mellamphy, Professor Emeritus, Department of English, The University of Western Ontario

Dr. Cheron Rudhramoorthy - Department of Sociology and Anthropology, University of Windsor. Dr. Rudhramoorthy is a poet and journalist based in Toronto. Cheran’s published anthologies include: The Second Sunrise and The Lord of Death. Cheran is an editor of Sarinhar, a Tamil language fortnightly an editor of Sarinihar, a Tamil language fortnightly newspaper.

Dr. John Saul, Professor Emeritus of Social and Political Science, York University and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC). Dr. Saul has written and edited 10 books on African political developments, including Essays on the Political Economy of Africa; and The Crisis in South Africa.

Dr. Michel Seymour, Philosopher and Professor at University of Montreal sign the Pledge.

Dr. Garth Stevenson, Professor of Political Science, Brock University; author of “Parallel Paths: The Development of Nationalism in Ireland and Quebec” (McGill-Queens University Press)

Toronto Teachers for Irish Unity


Barrie Irish Claddagh Club

Frankie Benson, host of "Radio Erin" on AM 740 in Toronto.

Victor Boyle, National President of the Ancient Order of Hibernians (CANADA)

The Canadian County Board of the Gaelic Athletic Association

The Charitable Irish Society in Halifax, Nova Scotia

Durham Committee for the Irish Unity Pledge

Emerald Isle Social Club, Toronto

Friends of Sinn Féin (Canada) Inc.

Mark Gallagher, National Vice President of the Ancient Order of Hibernians (CANADA)

Jack Ferns, Past Chairman of the Toronto St. Patrick’s Day Parade Society

Brendan Flynn, Vancouver based Coordinator of The Ireland Canada Monument Project

Lar na Gael/Brampton Irish Centre

Al McCabe, Vancouver based Project Organisation and Committee Member of The Ireland Canada Monument Project

Quebec Ireland Committee

Dr. Michael Quigley, historian and founding member of Action Grosse Ile; past President of the Irish Canadian Club of Hamilton.

Pat Rooney, President of the Emerald Isle Seniors Society, (Toronto)

Steve Whelan, founder and past Chair of the St. Patrick's Parade Society in Toronto; founder and current President of the United Irish Societies of Canada.


George Chuvalo, former Canadian heavyweight boxing champion (fought Ali (twice), Joe Frazier, George Foreman, and Floyd Patterson). Member of the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame, the World Boxing Hall of Fame and the Order of Canada.